New to this

Hello all, I am kinda new to this kind of stuff and being a computer hardware nerd and my roommate being a small time programmer we wanted to see how this would be set up and a final cost of everything we need. So a couple of questions.

1. Does anyone have like a visio or a data diagram of how they have everything setup in there own home with what products they have and how it is linked.

1. I a first timer with this and any suggestions for a n00b?

thx

Reply to
nakedmoses
Loading thread data ...

Reply to
J Miller

Reply to
nakedmoses

Also ask yourself how much torment you and (perhaps more importantly) your spouse are willing to put up with. Home Automation is a pain in the ass. The old rule applies "good, fast cheap... pick two". The higher-end systems are expensive but can be configured to practically wipe your ass for you by voice control. You'll pay for that privilege, both in device costs and programming costs. Try and cheap out and go with lower end devices and you'll shift the burden of support and programming onto yourself. Your time isn't free, especially when it means the wife is getting really annoyed at not being able to just 'simply turn the lights on'. So be careful about just how 'cheaply' you think this can be accomplished.

You may also find automating things independently to be less expensive and more reliable. Sure, a sprinkler system that's integrated with a PC and can be controlled via the internet is a nifty idea. But then again, a $60 standalone setup running off a couple of AA batteries will keep cranking right along, unlike a crashed PC. I know, I've tried both. Look at it this way, thousands of dollars in dead landscaping is what to worry about, not some fancy PC interface.

Same deal with alarm and security setups. Yes, you can integrate it with a PC or other home automation system. But if you NEED it to do what it does, tying it up to an automation system 'just for kicks' isn't always such a great idea.