Looking for Temp and humidity sensors

No, it is not. You can measure it that way but why when there are direct sensors available.

Automating a wet bulb thermometer is not trivial.

Reply to
B Fuhrmann
Loading thread data ...

Isn't the claim here that the one piece sensors, while available, are too expensive?

Actually, you measure the dry and wet temperatures and calculate.

However, when I was an HVAC engineer, when we wanted a serious measure of humidity, we used wet and dry temps. That was years ago, maybe it reflected more pragmatic concerns.

Sure it is, get to temp sensors, put a cotton wick on one into a tank of water. Put a float valve on the tank to control level of water in the tank. Put a muffin fan blowing air across both sensors. Measure and calculate. Periodically backflush the tank to clear out the calcium and other scrud left over from the water. Put in some algecide periodically, etc.

This is, of course, comp.home.automation, so you really need computer sensors for the water temp, flow rate of both water and air, etc.

Reply to
Pat Farrell

Too bad. I see other topologies like Phil Anderson's that make me believe the Bobcats could either be made more functional or less expensive, overall, but I suppose for limited uses where the sensor needs to be bulletproof and highly reliable, the Bobcats make sense. With 16 port Ethernet hubs going for less than $50 I would have thought we would have seen more things appearing more quickly for networking like remote temperature sensing and even electrical load control.