DIY motorized shade... a few questions...

Hi all, noob here.

Okay, I've got an unreachable window in my foyer that is now facing a newly-built house across the street and I feel as if I'm being watched at night. ;)

I shopped around for some remote controlled blinds and was knocked over by the price and I wasn't particularly enchanted by the selection.

Here are my questions:

What sort of motor should I be looking at and where can I get it? It needs to run off of DC power (battery) and pull a 74" wide cellular blind. AC power isn't out of the question, just a major PITA to hook up.

What sort of control mechanism do I need? I'm not interested in the ability to stop it part way; fully open or fully closed is all I need. Also, remote control would be awesome (again, wiring a control switch would be a PITA)

Also, I thought: why not take it one step further and have a photo sensor automatically open and close the blinds when it gets dark or light outside?

Anyone have any diagrams/resources for a project like this? I would greatly appreciate any input.

TIA!

Reply to
skipjack
Loading thread data ...

This is a frequently asked question. You would benefit from a google of the newsgroup.

What blinds do you have?

I used Hunter IIRC) vertical blinds for the discussion below that I posted six years ago. I can still recommend with reservations as noted below:

"I bought two model AAM80 Add-A-Motor's at Worthington

formatting link
"

[ url still works after 6 years! ]

" They were easier to install than I thought they would be in part because they aligned easily. In general they work well for my purpose (12-foot-wide, ceiling-height, vertical blinds with pull-cords for both the open-close and swivel functions). "