Dedicated Z-wave sites?

That's gotta be on par with a bassism. kinda hard to get any experience without the license though isn't it. Seeing as it's illegal to do that kind of work without one. Plus the guy with the license who is in that business will warranty his work if he wants to continue to get any in the areas he works in. So who do you hire, illegal aliens, alcoholics. crack heads, anybody off the street and hope they know what they are doing? Anybody but a licensed electrician? People who claim " I am not an electrician but I play one on usenet? and I can tell you how to do it in a phone conversation in 20 minutes" Good luck with that. YMMV

Reply to
Frog
Loading thread data ...

I absolutely will take the advice of someone over the phone, evaluate it, and determine if it's a job I can do myself. As the homeowner, that's my right. No way I'm going to pay someone to do something I can do myself or can do with the help of an experienced friend.

Reply to
E. Lee Dickinson

I dunno. I'm watching a vidcast of a briefing called "Improving the Reliability of Commodity Operating Systems" and it talks about how much of Windows resides outside of MS's control in device drivers. If the lecturer is to be believed, 85% of Windows crashes are device driver related. He's discussing an OS helper called NOOKS

formatting link
that seeks to protect the kernel of Linux from errant drivers usings a variety of techniques like isolation, object monitoring and shadow drivers (that try to restart failed drivers and replay inputs to recover what was lost by the driver crash). He notes that the problem drivers that escape into the real world often suffer from transient faults that are difficult to find. If merely restarting the driver overcomes the problem that often means the driver crashes are occuring when interrupts come at precisely the wrong time.