Controlling media player from bluetooth headset?

Hi,

I got a Logitech bluetooth headset for Christmas. I am not using it with my mobile phone which is not bt enabled, but just as a wireless headset for my PC.

According to the manual, it is possible to control some basic phone functions with the two buttons on the headset. One can answer a call, redial a number etc.

Then I got the tought that I must be possible to get/make a program for the PC that will respond to the key presses on the headset. I would like to be able to pause and wind/rewind the media player from the headset.

Does any of you know of such a program or some hints how to make it? I am a professional programmer, just a total newbie in bluetooth technology.

If another group is more appropriate than this, please let me know :)

Thanks, Martin

Reply to
Martin Larsen
Loading thread data ...

Your PC's headphone/speaker jack is just that... a headphone/speaker jack. The sound card would have support the button functions on your headset and there currently isn't anything on the market that does that. Sorry.

Reply to
Frank Olson

That's crap. Read the original message before spouting the wrong answer. He's talking about a bluetooth headset. That provides an actual audio output device. It has nothing to do with the regular soundcard analog outputs. Yeesh, get a clue.

Technically it is possible but there'd have to be a program running on the PC that understood how to handle the incoming Bt headset signals and sent them to a media player. It actually wouldn't be all that complicated code-wise but it's unlikely to be something the typical headset program would understand how to do.

I'd start by reading up in MSDN regarding how telephony and headset devices are supported. Then you'd have to interface with either the player program or the OS media handlers. It would probably be better to interface with the player directly as you're likely to have different streams going to the PC speaker and the headset.