Controlling Hot Water Recirculation Pumps

Hello. I just bought a new home that has a recirculation pump located near the hot water heater. I am new to all this so I have some questions:

(a) I have looked online and see some of these pumps have timers attached so they operate only during expected usage times (not between midnight and 5am). Mine does not have one that I can see. Are these always attached directly to the pump body or can the timer be located elsewhere? If elsewhere, where might this be?

(b) I have read that some of these systems incorporate a temperature switch somewhere that shuts off the pump when a pre-set temp is reached at some point in the line. What are the signs that mine has such a switch?

(c) Even with a timer as in (a) above it seems potentially very wasteful and hard on the pump for it to run continuously as we are not big hot water users generally. So is there some simple way - ideally using X-10, Active Home, CMA-11 (I think that's it), and simple macros (no running computer needed) which I already use - to control this pump mechanism at a more granular level?

Thanks,

David

Reply to
David White
Loading thread data ...

Reply to
BruceR

I installed one of those Grudfos pumps here. The master bedroom and laundry are a long run from the hot water heater. In this desert climate, I hated to dump that much water down the drain waiting for the water to warm up. Our schedule is variable, so we may need hot water any time of the day.

I changed the runs to two complete loops which service opposite ends of the house, The Grudfos pumps both loops. A gate valve in the return balances both so they heat up at the same speed. The pump runs for 75 seconds every

15 minutes, just long enough for freshly heated water to purge the line. All piping is well-insulated so there is little decrease in temperature over that interval. I probably could stretch it out to 20 minutes or even a half hour by allowing more variation in temperature.