Any home sec IP cams for Android phones?

Has any of you found yet a good IP camera for home security which can be viewed and controlled remotely with an Android smartphone? Unfortunately my old Linksys WVC54G cam can only be used with MS IE.

Reply to
Rover
Loading thread data ...

My Panasonics (BL-C131A and BL-C140A) work fine using Safari on an iPhone EXCEPT for audio.

Reply to
greenpjs

Yes, I, too, have seen several IP cameras adverised as viewable with iPhone, but hardly any with Android phone.

Reply to
Rover

X10 has recently introduced an Android tablet and wireless IP cameras. The web page says the Airsight camera is viewable over iPhone, Android phone and tablets but I have no hands-on experience.

formatting link

Reply to
dlh

For that price I don't think you could get an IP cam with as good video as they are showing on their promotional web site. Besides, X10 has gained a reputation for cheap quality, especially in video products. Recording over a WiFi link is also a questionable practice as it requires a dedicated PC to be online. It would be still fine if the cam also had a built-in recording capability on a micro SD card, with time stamps, etc.

I wonder why they don't show more detailed specs for the cam that could really tell the story, such as you see for the sumilar looking camera here:

formatting link

Reply to
Rover

I recently bought a Tenvis IP camera (with pan/tilt) for around $50. It works well and there are several android apps available to view and control it.

Reply to
Markus

Which model and where did you buy it? I've seen a few of them on Amazon but hardly any user feedbacks.

Reply to
Rover

I bought it via Ebay from Germany. I think it is a JPT3815, it is nowhere written on the device !

I got set up via this thread:

formatting link