A mentor / Advisor ?

Hi All,

Someone mentioned in another forum that I might try this newsgroup for some help / advise with home Automation.

I'm about to move into a new home, and I think there's an opportunity to install some home automation products / services.

I have a lot of experience with electrical wiring and computers in general as well as wired and wireless networking. I don't, however, have any experience with home automation.

I'm looking for someone that wouldn't mind taking a little time to correspond with me, either here for the benefit of the group, or via email, so as to spare the group from my newbiness.

Breifly, what I have in my home now is that the builder ran coax, phone and cat5e from most every room in the house to the basement, where they are all currently bundled and un-terminated. The alarm panel is also conveniently located in the same place.

Anyway, if you have ideas / experience and are willing to spend a little time helping me figure out what I need, I'd sure appreciate it!

Thanks! Chris Hackett snipped-for-privacy@chackett.com

Reply to
Chris Hackett
Loading thread data ...

Hi Chris,

You came to the right place. There are a lot of regulars here who enjoy sharing what we know about home automation. Some of us are DIYers, some work for professional HA installers and some of us (me included) sell home automation equipment and services to DIYers.

Why not start by telling us what you'd like your HA system to do for you?

Reply to
Robert L Bass

Hi Robert,

Thanks for the prompt and friendly response!

I'll preface my ideas with the fact that I'm a true novice with this stuff, so I may be in over my head. Who knows.