Testing A Cisco PIX 501

Hi Everyone,

I recently installed a Cisco PIX 501 and would like to test out my security. How might I go about this? Websites like GRC dot com perhaps? I am very new at this all and would appreciate the most basic of suggestions.

ALSO:

In the past I had Zone Alarm Pro installed and often I would get pop ups asking if I would like to allow a certain connection. For example my anti virus program would like to check for updated definitions. Now that I have the Cisco installed and still have Zone Alarm Pro I continue to get these messages. If I were to uninstall Zone Alarm Pro would these connections be allowed without my permission? If so that does not seem to secure.. If anyone has an idea where I am coming from please explain how I can set the Cisco to alert me to attempted connections by whatever is trying to "phone home".

Thank You Everyone.

PS: To those that have emailed me regarding my various newbie questions, I think it might be better to answer here in the newsgroup so that others in the future might benefit from your answer as well.

Reply to
Networking Student
Loading thread data ...

CISCO PIX501 is not a application firewall its a hardware firewall it will never give you popup for any application connecting Inside to outside interface. By Default PIX works like:

-All inside is allowed to outside zone

-Alloutside is denied to inside interface.

So you an block/filter the Application /Ports runing from inside to outside through access-list.

CK

Network> Hi Everyone,

Reply to
CK

And "Software-Firewalls" cannot either.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

Define a security concept. Define the threats you want to be secure from. Implement parts of this concept with your 501. Define a testing scenario. Optionally write a test bench. Test your implementation.

formatting link

Your're welcome.

Yes. But this doesn't matter, because "controlling outbound" is a b0rken concept anyways.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk