SonicFirewall, VPN and DNS

Hello! I just got vpn working on my company's SonicFirewall PRO 2040 Standard and it is doing great. The user runs the SonicWall Global VPN Client and connects to the firewall. Then they can remote desktop to their office computer. Here is the snag: They must remote desktop to their office computer's static ip address because the setup won't resolve any computer names. No one can map network drives over vpn either. This is my first time messing with a firewall and, with exception to this one bug, I believe I have done a good job setting this thing up. Can anyone suggest a possible solution?

Here is a brief description of how things are set up if it helps: Our firewall is at the internal ip address of 192.168.0.1. The DNS server is a computer called DNS1 at 192.168.0.2 and it handles our local dns needs while forwarding to our internet provider for our internet dns needs. Our DHCP server is a machine named Server1 at

I have one VPN Policy named GroupVPN with with no gateway, no destinations, and a Crypto Suite of ESP 3DES HMAC SHA1 (IKE). I basically just used the defaults where possible.

So what do you think?

Thanks! Matthew Hanna

Reply to
irtheman
Loading thread data ...

Your local subnet is the same as most home users subnets and sooner or later this will cause you problems. I would suggest, next time you change things, that you change your local company subnet to

192.168.8.0/24 or something not using 192.168.0.0/24 and not using 192.168.1.0/24 and not using 10.0.0.0/24 either.

We normally create different VPN groups, so that we can limit users to specific ports/IP's in the company:

GRP_IT_SUPPORT all ports/all IP GRP_ACCOUNTING Remote Desktop (3389) only to the Accounting IP's. GRP_.... and you get the idea.

Reply to
Leythos