Slower DSL download speed with router

Win2K Pro SP.4, single user, SpeedTouch modem, PPPoE, Dlink Dl-604 router. I used to use a Kerio firewall but following a crash In October, the guy who repaired it, installed a Dlink router in place of the firewall. I have a subscription to Grisoft's AVG7.5 and there's been no problems.

I used to get 170 KB/s download (3 MB service but long way from CO) but now it's only about 35 KB/s, about only a fifth of what it used to be. I've tested it by downloading files that I've previously downloaded, at different times of day.

I have a call into my repair guy and will probably speak to him this coming week, but wonder if you have any helpful comments?

tia Alan

Reply to
Alan Illeman
Loading thread data ...

Reply to
Tony

Reply to
Tony

Reply to
Tony

To trash then entire D-Link line without understand, you tend to make people not believe what you say.

As an example, while the 604 is junk, they make a DFL-700 device that is very nice, has a lot of nice features, etc....

Linksys, while having a nicer interface, is not really better, as I've installed over 100 of each, they all have problems. I had a Linksys BEFSR41, BEFSX41 and several others that would reboot during extended loading of the LAN, a cheap D-Link didn't reboot as a replacement for the linksys units.

Reply to
Leythos

Yah, well I've got a very nice DGL 4300 here, works flawlessly.

Reply to
Warren Oates

Reply to
Tony

Alan Illeman skrev:

Have you checked if there is a newer firmware? If there is one upgrade the unit. You can see if the SPI mode ('Tools > Misc') is enabled, and if it is turn it of to see if you get a better speed.

You can also toggle DoS protection (same 'Misc'tab) on/off.

And of course try to reboot the unit.

But the first thing is the firmware.

The D-link 604 is cheap but no crap the one I have has served me well and is still doing so.

/Anders

Reply to
Anders

And so you lump all of their products into your very limited scope of experience.