server not found, try again repeatedly

I have been using Firefox for several years now. Up until this year, I never had problems. Then, sometime within the last year, I noticed that when I visited websites, I would keep getting the "server not found" message and I would have to press "try again" sometimes up to 5 times before I would get to a website. I also get email lag in Outlook Express 6, sometimes it will say something like server not found and I'll have to manually select receive and emails will come through.

I am running XP SP 3, Verizon Internet Security Suite, and Firefox (latest version) for browsing and OE 6 for email/ groups. I have tried all sorts of troubleshooting as suggested on various websites, but to no avail. I have uninstalled Firefox from "program permissions" in Verizon Security Suite and then reinstalled but no effect. I have also tried some advanced network troubleshooting techniques as suggested at Microsoft, but no help.

I am suspecting maybe Verizon Internet Security Suite is interferring somehow, but I don't know how to troubleshoot further other than what I have already done.

The problem makes it almost impossible to download files and many times I have to refresh several times before I get the opportunity to download a file.

So the bottom line is that Firefox and OE 6 work, but very sluggishly and reloading/ refreshing many times before finally getting email and or getting to websites. As I say, it's been going on for about a year.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you, Bill Penney

Reply to
Bill Penney
Loading thread data ...

sounds like you can't resolve names via DNS. If the error occurs open a shell (cmd.exe) and execute nslookup

formatting link