Security Administrator wannabe - Where to start?

Hi All,

I'm currently working as a Windows Server engineer (amongst the millions of others), but have always been interested in security. Specifically Firewalls, IDS, VPN's, AV etc.

I've had a few years experience in designing and implementing security for a couple of small companies I've worked for and thoroughly enjoyed it. So much so I've decided this is what I want to do for a living.

I realise this is a completely different career path as to what I am doing now.

My question really is; where should I start..? I want to go down the official route, and become fully certified, but how? - I've heard of SANS.ORG, but their site (coming from someone who worked in a web design company) is very messy!

Any input would be very much appreciated!

Thanks

Reply to
ProfesZor
Loading thread data ...

You may wish to investigate Cisco's Certified Security Professional:

formatting link
as well as Cisco CCSP Jobs:

formatting link
and Cisco Salary Surveys:

formatting link
Sincerely,

Brad Reese BradReese.Com® Cisco Resource Center Toll Free: 877-549-2680 International: 828-277-7272 Website:

formatting link

Reply to
BradReeseCom

Start with CISSP certification - that shouldn't be too hard for you. Visit

formatting link
for the beginning,
formatting link
formatting link
Take a look - maybe you decide to run into consultations. The more you invest into education, the better your security future is. Only those seminars and everything connected to security education is quite expensive. But worth it. And connect with other people of your kind - one true experience is worth much more than dozen of seminars.

Best, BB

formatting link

Reply to
BB

I am not sure about the CISSP. It seems a little too geared towards management and not as much towards hands on staff.

Since you already have Microsoft experience, have you looked and MCSE+Security as a first step?

formatting link