Network Firewall Advice

I have two servers that I want to place in a collocated facility but I need to select a device (a managed switch I believe) to place in front of the servers to protect them from hacking attempts and route the appropriate traffic to the right machines based on IP and port.

I only need 4 Lan ports and 1 wan port.

The setup will be something like the following:

Live Server (Win OS) Dev Server (Win OS)

Many Public IP's to the router through one ethernet cable.

I need to route the traffic through the device based on port and IP combined.

This device would also need to be very stable and have good connectivity on the local network (gigabit) since the servers transfer a lot of data amongst each other.

Simplicity of interface is also going to be a concern since I'm a programmer and not a networking guru. I can handle setting up routing tables on a very basic level but anything CISCO is going to be out.

Cost is also another factor. My spending range for this device should not exceed $400.00.

I would prefer a smaller device so that I don't get charged for space from the co-lo company (not something that is rack mountable).

Thanks for your help!

James

Reply to
jgoodale
Loading thread data ...

Not going to want much protection for your network/nodes then.

For that range of price you can't get much that would provide all that you want.

Reply to
Leythos

I understand that its a limited budget but something is better then nothing. I see that there are many sonicwalls in that price range on ebay. Will any of those devices work?

Reply to
jgoodale

If you get the key/software and a valid firmware for it.

Many devices sold on ebay are not fully functional - they are limited due to a key not being available or having very OLD firmware.