Need recommendations for firewall router.

Would like to get a router to connect a simple two-computer home network using a Ethernet DSL modem. Primarily concerned with security; not port jacks or ease of setup. So what's a good, cheap router that has robust firewall / security features?

Reply to
Bob Ladbury
Loading thread data ...

I would recommend the Cisco Pix routers. I do tech support for a living, so I hear which brands break down more than others.

Reply to
Shizali

Check it out, this is big time Linux free firewall software you can run on old PC.

formatting link
IPCop is a Linux-based open source firewall system that can secure anything from a single home computer to an enterprise-level network. It goes beyond the simple security guard analogy and provides services like routing, logging of entry attempts, reporting of traffic patterns, and regulation of inbound and outbound traffic.

web-based management: After the firewall reboots, take a look at the Web-based management interface. Use a browser connected to the Green network and go to http://192.168.2.1:81/, or use the Green IP address that you assigned and add the :81/ port. You'll see a splash screen and login prompt. Enter "admin" and the admin password that you set during installation.

To get started, download the ISO file and burn it on a CD. It won't take very long, since it's only about 40MB in size.

formatting link

Reply to
Steve Henderson

If you want a firewall then check out the SOHO lines from WatchGuard, Sonic and Netscreen.

If you want a router that does NAT and is "called" a firewall, then any cheap unit will do as none of them are firewalls (even though they are called firewalls).

Reply to
Leythos

snipped-for-privacy@kittymail.com (Bob Ladbury) wrote in news: snipped-for-privacy@posting.google.com:

I haven't gotten one of these yet, but you may want to check it out.

formatting link
Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold