Is Netgear FVS318 a "true" firewall?

I'm just a beginner in computer security in general and firewalls in particular (though I've spent quite a few years in IT in application development).

Netgear FVS318 is described as "True Firewall using Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI) and Intrusion Detection features, Denial of Service (DoS) attack protection, and VPN pass-through for extra security."

Will it (on its own) provide an adequate protection for a small office with a shared Internet access? Does it need to be complimented by anything else on the hardware side?

If user workstations run up-to-date anti-virus and anti-spyware software, is any other client side monitoring required?

TIA, Eugene

Reply to
Eugene F.
Loading thread data ...

I'd also pick holes in this statement: "Intrusion Detection features".

Netgear (and Cisco) misuse the terminology.

If AV and Spyware is a concern I would point you too a more sophisticated solution, such as a Netscreen, Sonicwall, or Fortinet appliance (my fav is Sonicwall at the moment). Using the Sonicwall as an example it has true Intrusion Prevention, Gateway AV which adds a nice second layer of AV (but you should always keep desktop/server AV as well), and anti-syware (biggie for me at the moment).

Reply to
Mark

Err yeah I was agreeing with you actually :)

sophisticated

Reply to
Mark

Try looking at a product called Astaro Security Linux. It's available for download at

formatting link
More features than could imagine including application level proxies (the best thing any firewall can do), Staeful Packet Inspection (which by the way is an overused term for something which doesn't really yield much), Intrusion Protection, Spyware, Anti-Virus and the list goes on. It's based on hardened Suse Linux and you can install it in 15 minutes on any x86 box.

Mike

Reply to
Michael Seidner