iptables questions

I am new to iptables. Fortunately, I was able to reverse the ruleset I had earlier. I have read more and added the following rules set: target prot opt source destination ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:ssh ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:http ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:smtp ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp spt:smtp ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp spt:domain ACCEPT udp -- anywhere anywhere udp spt:domain ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:https ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:pop3 ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:domain ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:smtps ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:cvspserver ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:webcache ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere tcp dpt:distinct ACCEPT all -- ip-XXX-XXX-XX-XXX.ip.myserver.net anywhere DROP all -- anywhere anywhere

I tried to follow this HOWTO:

formatting link

It appears to work on most ports. However, when I try a web site on that server, port 80, it starts but never finishes - never goes to that page. In forefox, the progress bar loooks like it's almost finished but never gets there.

I need to be able to: check and send mail serve web site ssh/WinSCP port 9999 needed as well as 8080 run DNS

Does that rules set look right?

Any ideas? Thanks!

Reply to
newnie
Loading thread data ...

formatting link

Hello,

You could try adding this to your script before allowing individual services :

iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT

Regards,

Nrth.

Reply to
Nrth

formatting link

Or after. It depends on what you want the counters on the rules to count.

- Place it before if the counters should count the number of sessions opened.

- Place it after if the counters should count the number of bytes per protocol. However, I don't believe it's the cause of your problem. Consider also TCP packet fragmentation.

Also: