Considering Cicso Pix 501 for home firewall---need info

I am considering replacing my present Netgear RT314 router + Zone Alarm Pro with a hardware firewall. My IT chief at work tells me my home network would be much more secure that way.

I am interested to know how difficult the 501 is to set up and understand, whether there are licenses that need to be purchsed, do they need to be purchased each year, and is there any special software that needs to be purchased? I like the fact that I could set up a VPN with ny system without having a port open all the time so that I could access my oomputer on trips.

Obviously, I am a newbie at this so please be gentle...!

Thanks Ken K

Reply to
Ken
Loading thread data ...

Ken,

Also consider a Netscreen firewall such as the 5GT. About the same price as a PIX 501, but easier to setup and configure. The 5GT is roughly equivalent to the PIX 506E.

Most of the higher-end firewalls have two licensed versions: 10 users and unlimited users. This is the case with the PIX and the Netscreen (although the PIX also offers a 50 user license).

Reply to
Jerry Gardner

Addressing the questions a bit out of order:

- There is no special software required for PIX.

- If you want to use the graphical interface to configure the PIX, then that is java based, so you would need Java 5 (I think it is); the graphical interface is no extra cost, though.

- Once you have bought a PIX, you have the right to keep using it indefinitely; there are no yearly license fees required

- The PIX 501 has a fairly short warrantee (90 days or so), during which time you are entitled to software updates and to create support cases.