Backing up and restoring Shorewall firewall settings

I'm a Linux newbie and am running Shorewall firewall on Xandros Linux. My question is on backing up and restoring the firewall settings in the event of a computer failure.

The particular box I need to back up is being used only as a firewall. The blacklist of I/P addresses is what most needs to be backed up since it's quite long and hand entering it again would be tedious. The problem is that Xandros uses a proprietary graphical interface for Shorewall, and the blacklist file is over-written and any hand entered changes lost each time the firewall is started. Changes made from within the graphical intrface are saved properly.

Has anyone had any success backing up and restoring the firewall settings under these conditions? I'm considering just trying to copy the etc\\shorewall and \\var\\lib\\shorewall folders to a different box and replacing the folders of the same name with the firewall off, starting the firewall and seeing if it comes up properly.

Thanks in advance.

Reply to
WN
Loading thread data ...

Shorewall is an iptables based program, it shows up on a number of linux distributions. I use it on Mandrake/Mandriva

I am surprised that the gui version does not recognize your hand entries, but there are a few things to consider there

- are the gui entries in some specific format or control characters and spaces?

- does the gui version keep its own blacklist file? You can enter a dummy ip address and search for it

Two points