Attack Detected

Drop it. Just use the Windows-Firewall.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk
Loading thread data ...

My firewall continually pops up with a little message saying that an attack to some port was detected. It gives me some numbers (like that's supposed to mean something to me) that I don't understand. There's a log with long lists of these "attacks." Am I supposed to do something with this stuff? How do I find out who the attacker is? As you can see, I'm not very experienced with firewalls (except for shutting them off). Al

Reply to
Al

Yes. Ignore it.

If those numbers don't mean anything to you, you don't.

cu

59cobalt
Reply to
Ansgar -59cobalt- Wiechers

Post the log with the relevant lines.

Reply to
Spender

Yes, even a personal FW running on a computer will log events. Those events being logged do not mean your machine is being singled out and attacked in most cases. The events are unsolicited traffic that is reaching the PFW and are being blocked by the PFW, which most likely are everyday events that will happen to a computer that's connected to the Internet. This is particularly true that events are logged by the PFW on a computer that has a direct connection to the modem, and therefore, the machine has a direct connection to the Internet. The personal FW will start going off and alarming you and most of the time. It's really nothing that's happening, other than, the PFW is blocking the traffic and popping messages that it's doing that.

Why even worry about it? The PFW is doing its job of blocking traffic that it's not suppose to let through. If you want to check who it is, then take the IP and enter it into the Arin WhoIs Search Box

formatting link
Most likely, it's someone's machine on some ISP's or even your own ISP's network network that has been infected by a virus. The virus running on the machine is trying to reach out and find other machines that are open to attack and infect them.