ARP Spoofing

Hi all, I'm beginner here with level of "CCNA INTRO", and CCSP will be my next step. I found out some programs that can monitor network traffic and can throw out any undesired PC from the network. Those programs are Netcut, Win_ARP_Spoofer. I read in some Security-related websites that these programs send fake ARP requests and replies to do that, but i still can't imagine how ARP requests do that harmful effect. As i understood from CCNA INTRO book ARP means that u have an IP address and needs its corresponding MAC address ..., right ? My questions:

1- How those programs work ? 2- How do Switches accept ARP replies without sending ARP requests in advance ? " Isn't it a security hole ? " 3- If those programs use ARP Requests not Replies how can ARP Requests cause this harmful effect ? " I'm sure that they use ARP requests and/or replies as i found in WinArpSpoofer Options. " Thanx in advance, luckyboy
Reply to
luckyboy
Loading thread data ...

Another interesting one is Ettercap.

formatting link

Here is a nice explanation on how the mac spoofing attacks work:

formatting link

The switches keep track of which mac addresses are on which ports. That way they don't have to send the packet to each port. Else it would be a hub and everyone would see all the traffic. Some attacks on the switch fill up that memory table and force it to turn into a hub.

They probably use a combination of the two. Requests to figure out what mac/ip combinations are out there, and replies to do the poisoning.

Reply to
J Wessels

right. arp request: "who-has 1.2.3.4?" reply: "00:1b:23:... has 1.2.3.4"

I am on "1.2.3.4". I want to redirect traffic from a very interesting server in my network (1.2.3.5) to my computer, so I send an ARP request:

"who has 1.2.3.5" and reply myself with my MAC. So everybody in my subnet now thinks I have the IP. Of course I should make sure the real server does not answer, or answers late.