Newbie question about Siemens K2701 and singlemode cable

Hi,

I have Siemens K2701 optical power meter (without manual) which states on its back that wavelenghts it works on are 850/1300/1310/1550 nm. Can this device do measuring on singlemode cables?

Thanks.

Reply to
sukovic
Loading thread data ...

Well, I was a Newbie less than a year ago, so I'll pass on what I've gleaned since. I've hauled a small singlemode campus network into working for $cheap since I started, so I might have learned a few things successfully.

I don't know that meter, and Siemens appears not to be proud of it, as you've no doubt already found (no online specs/manual in a short search. Probably more like "they want to accelerate obsolescence, but anyway...)

If it's a power meter only, probably "yes" based on what I've been told, and seen, with a different brand of meter.

BUT: You will need a single-mode optical source in the same wavelength(s) as the system you are trying to measure/qualify or whatever you are actually trying to accomplish. Depending on "for whom" and "to what standards" you might also need to have both the meter and the source calibrated (quite possibly costing more money than you paid for a used meter with no manual.)

You'll also need appropriate single-mode patch cables to connect from source to cable and from cable to meter (and also "directly to each other" to eliminate their contribution as an initial calibration.) The ends you connect to the cables are moved from cable to cable, but the ends connected to the source and meter should remain connected to those instruments throughout a measuring session, as they are much more variable than coupling most connectors.