Wireless Versus Ethernet

I'm an entry level IT technician at my new job. It's a small office of

14 computers, 13 of which are networked together.

My boss wants to get wireless ethernet as insurance in case of a lightning strike/hurricane/undetermined vague reasons.

This would mean removing the ethernet altogether to protect against lightning strikes.

I think he should just get an apcc lightning thing with ethernet jacks.

Ethernet is reliable as a network correct? Do we really need a wireless network for a small office? To me it seems like my boss is just listening to people trying to sell the latest and greatest thing.

What do you think?

Reply to
Johhny Blogger
Loading thread data ...

Euh, he's been reading too many marketing magazines.

How will this help? Each Pc is still connected to all the rest by mains cabling, and worse still, that cabling is connected to other buildings and pylons and so on and so forth.

Yes. Proper surge protection is what he needs.

Stick with ethernet.

I agree.

Reply to
Mark McIntyre

You can have both connected at the same time. See: |

formatting link
ethernet route is used because the "cost" of the connection is less than the "cost" of the wireless. If the ethernet pukes, then wireless just takes over. At worst, all the user need to is unplug the ethernet connector.

Sigh. Ethernet is protected to about 1500 volts common mode. That should take care of any indirect lightning hits. It's not grounded so you don't need to worry about ground loops (unless you use shielded CAT5). Nothing will protect against a direct hit.

It's far more reliable than wireless. It's also much less of a security risk if the wireless network is compromised by an evil wireless hacker (like me).

No. At best it's redundant. At worst, it's a security risk, configuration problem, and is much slower than 100baseT.