Strange results from a tcpdump, can anyone help?

Hello there, I was refered here by a helpful soul who claims that members of this group may have a deeper understanding of network issues that could help me figure out this problem. I'm reposting the pertinent details below: ================================================

I'm a bit of a newb to the world of networking, so please bear with me.

I work in an environment with many separate vlans spanning several switches (say about a dozen). Today we had an incident where suddenly traffic was going ballistic on most ports in the network. Doing a tcpdump on a particular host on this network, you could actually see unicast traffic that was neither destined to or coming from the host. Or, to put it another way, it almost looked like the host was on a hub, where you could see packets travelling between other hosts on the network to other destinations.

We shut off some ports where some new windows servers were brought up today. As soon as those ports were taken offline, then tcpdumps on the other hosts went to normal (i.e. the only traffic you could see were broadcasts, or unicasts to and from that host).

Can anyone think of a likely explanation for this?

Please let me know if I'm not making sense!

Thanks in advance,

=====================================================

An additional wrinkle I've noticed while studying the tcpdump:

All the traffic I'm seeing that is not supposed to be there (i.e. http traffic from various other switches/hosts on the vlan) tends to be packets from the same vlan (vlan 82) destined to other hosts outside this vlan. In other words, the packets have src ips originating from within the vlan and dst ips are all external, and the src ips are from hosts that are not confined to a particular switch (at a brief glance, I'm seeing src packets coming from switch08, switch05, switch06, as well as other hosts on switch01 - where the tcpdump was taken).