Setup Metro ethernet (KPN EVPN)

Hi, We have just replaced our existing DSL based VPN solution with a metro ethernet one, connecting our 3 sites together over 10Mbit links. Now i just have a simple question. The telco setup the metro ethernet (layer 2 multipoint ethernet connection between the 3 sites) and installed Nortel 1400 ESM switches at each site. After that, they were gone and could'nt tell me how to further configure it.

If i'm right, i actually have an ethernet link between every site, but i cannot just plug the Nortels in the existing switches at each site since all sites are on a different subnet, right?

So do i need an ethernet router at each site, connected between the Nortel (WAN) and the existing LAN and setup another new subnet for the "WAN net"? But what would i use as gateway at the wan ip side?

Should it be like this?

site1 lan1lan2

etc.

Can somebody please point me in the right direction with this, since i'm a bit new to this kind of setup?

Thanks, Dennes

Reply to
Dennes
Loading thread data ...

is it this?

formatting link

could be - ie the WAN "cloud" is just an Ethernet.

if all your sites have the same IP subnet, you could just plug them in - but that would not be a good idea if you have any other links out. So routers at each site would be much better.

or there might be some structure in the WAN - i have seen Ethernet WANs where different destinations selected by 802.1Q VLAN.

either way you need a router or a layer 3 switch at each location.

a mid range router (Cisco 2811 or 3825) should be able to cope with 10M even if you need some processor intensive stuff turned on such as QoS and multicast.

but if you think you might want faster links later then a layer 3 switch would be better (or if you already have a L3 capable box on the sites, you could just use a port on that).

Reply to
stephen

Yep, that's it