Newbie question: How many switches can I install 100m apart?

I have little experience in expanding networks. Wondering whether if I can expand an existing 100Mbps network comprising of two fast Ethernet switches placed about 60m apart. What I need to do is connect a couple of workstations residing in another building which is about 90m from one of the existing switches. Is it possible to run a cat6 from the switch to the new building and install another switch there?

TIA

Reply to
mike
Loading thread data ...

If you look at groups.google.com, you can read many good answers to this question.

Basically: it is possible, but far from advisable.

Reply to
Gerard Bok

802.1d says (or did at one time) that the limit is 7 hops.

You are proposing 3 hops so are well within those limits.

So it's Ok. (and advisable too).

There seems to be the idea that this 7 hop limit may not be such an issue with modern equipment however it's not what the standard says.

The 7 hop limit was expected to include thinks like 64k WAN links and CPUs are now orders of magnitude faster.

If you are running cable put in more than one.

Reply to
Bod43

I'm far to lasy to read 802.1d, but I recall a 3-4-5 rule :-)

Read back in this newsgroup: from an ethernet point of view, there is no problem at all.

From a 'cabling', 'safety' and 'regulatory' point of view it is not advisable --or even prohibited-- to run such a length of copper between 2 buildings.

Reply to
Gerard Bok

mike wrote in part:

Sure, this will work for a while until you get a nearby lighting strike. Then one or more stiches & possibly NICs will get fried.

The correct way to do interbuilding is with fiber.

-- Robert

Reply to
Robert Redelmeier