How to get 1 + 1 = 2Gbps?

Hi,

I have a Linux SAMBA server and a Windows XP client. Both have dual gigE NICs which I want to bundle.

What type of gigabit ethernet switch do I need to get a 2Gbps transfer rate between the server and the client?

Is it enough that the switch simply supports the 802.1ad LACP rotocol?

I tried googling but ended up confused between the various terms: port teaming, bonding, link aggregation, 802.1ad, etherchannel, PAgP and so on.

I do not need link redundancy or fault tolerance, I need pure raw speed between the server and client.

The server runs Fedora Core 4 and the client has Intel PRO software for bundling NIC ports. Assumme also that both server and client have enough horsepower to stream 2Gbps.

My budget is around USD1000 for the switch. (10G unfortunately costs upwards of USD7000 at this time, SMC have a nice 8-port 10G switch on their website)

Some promising gigE switches appear to be:

D-Link DGS-1216T 16-ports smart L2 SMC SMCGS16-smart 16-ports smart L2 (silent: has no fan) SMC SMC8612T 12-port managed L2 Netgear GS716T 16-ports smart L2 Netgear GSM7212 12-ports managed L2 DELL powerconnect 2716 16-ports smart L2 (silent: has no fan? not sure) DELL powerconnect 5324 24-ports managed L2

All above switches support IEEE 802.1ad LACP according to their respective manufactorer websites.

Also is a "smart" (i.e. web-browser management innterface with some simple functions) switch adequate for what I want to do, or do I really need a true "managed" switch?

Any comments regarding above (or comparable) switches also welcome, I didn't find any decent reviews so far.

TIA Jeff

Reply to
jeff000069
Loading thread data ...

A small correction: In my original post I refer to 802.1ad, I meant of course 802.3ad link aggregation control protocol.

Sorry about that.

Jeff

Reply to
jeff000069