Crossover Vs. Patch Cables

Hi everyone,

Can some people chime in as to whether or not patch cables are the same as crossover cables? Are they or are they not the same? If you do not already know the answer I would prefer you not respond. Please do not look on Google to get your answer. :)

I recently bought three crossover cables from ComputerCableStore.com. When the cables arrived I found they were actually patch cables, not crossover cables. When I e-mailed the customer service person about the problem she insisted that "patch" is just another term for "crossover". In other words, ComputerCableStore.com is claiming there is no difference between patch and crossover cables.

I'm not an Ethernet expert but I'm pretty sure (about 99.9%) that crossovers are different from patch. Is it true or is the customer service person from ComputerCableStore.com correct?

Thanks.

Reply to
Tony
Loading thread data ...

Crossover cables have pins 1&2 swapped with pins 3&6. Patch cables have no swaps. When you look at the plastic connector on each end (pins up), you should be able to tell which you have based on the colors inside.

S
Reply to
Stephen Sprunk

What do you need a crossover cable for? Crossover cables are usually used for connecting between network equipment, but usually home network stuff autodetect whether or not you are using a crossover cable, or there is a button to push to switch between the 2, usually on port 1. The only time I have seen where you absolutely have to have a crossover cable is between a DSL router and a computer or switch, or for connecting 2 computers without a switch or hub. (I use one for connecting my Xbox to a computer.)

Randy R

Reply to
Randy R