getting in

Hello, I'm new to the pix 515e. I want to determine how much memory, software installed, processor, etc. Is there a way or a place that I can go to help a computer literate but virgin to firealls person (me) so I can get walked through the process? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Reply to
fatlobsterman
Loading thread data ...

Log on to the device. enable. Issue the command "show version". If I recall correctly, all of the information you asked for is given there.

Reply to
Walter Roberson

thanks for replying so wuickly. I don't even know how to do that. I have it hooked to my pc but I heard that I have to match ip addresses and telnet which is way beyong my knowledge. Is it a big deal to do all of this?

Reply to
fatlobsterman

In article , wrote: [PIX 515E]

Take the serial cable you got with the PIX 515E. Connect it to a serial port on your PC. Plug the RJ45 end into the "console" connection on the 515E. If you don't know which one that is, look at the diagram at

formatting link
Then on your PC, fire up Hyperterm and set it to use the appropriate COM port at 9600 8 N 1. Now press return in the Hyperterm window.

Alternately, follow the instructions in chapter 3 of the Quick Start Guide at

formatting link

Reply to
Walter Roberson

are you referring to using the pcterminal adapter with the rj45into the console like in figure 4-7?

Reply to
fatlobsterman

I think I may be in if that is the way that you were referring to. I used com3 with the other info you gave me and hyperterminal says connected but show version does nothering- what else can I do?\\

Reply to
fatlobsterman

In article , wrote: [PIX 515E]

I don't use googlegroups for actively reading postings (only when I am researching old postings), so your previous postings are not visible on my screen. It would therefore be appreciated if you would follow the Usenet convention of quoting enough of the previous conversation to establish the context of your remarks.