Equipment needed for an ISDN lab setup?

Hi, I'm studying for the CCNA and I am having a great deal of trouble with ISDN and BRI. I think it would help me to have some physical Cisco ISDN/BRI hardware and actually set it up, get it working, and then intentionally misconfigure and break various pieces to see what that looks like from the router console.

On eBay I have found Cisco 2503 routers w/ BRI interfaces. I have also seen Cisco routers with NT1 interfaces. Can either of these be configured back-to-back with a specific cable? Or, can you configure a third router to simulate an ISDN switch, like you can configure a router to simulate a frame relay switch? I have several spare 2501s and 2514s.

If I can get pointed in the right conceptual direction I can research it from there. I'm just not clear on the components needed for an ISDN LAB.

Thanks, John

Reply to
JohnH.
Loading thread data ...

You cannot connect Cisco routers back to back on ISDN ports, you need a very basic ISDN switch emulator.

I have successfully used the Emutel Sole 2 BRI ISDN from Arca Technologies when I created a CCIE practice lab in a past life. It functioned flawlessly

see

formatting link
for details

ask them if they have a discount for Cisco students.

Reply to
Merv

Hmmm... after looking for these on the web, ISDN emulators seem to be very exepensive, around $1,000US give or take. The few that were on eBay were also more than I really want to spend. I was hoping for a $50 +/- solution because I am working on a budget. Is this just not realistic. I have even looked for a software and card solutions for a PC and not found one. Anybody got any suggestions? Or, is the hardward ISDN switch emulator really my only option? Thanks, John

Reply to
JohnH.

2 cheap solutions:
  1. Elmeg C48.net, probably around 0 plus any extras. This is a proper ISDN pbx
  2. Linux/BSD, Asterisk and a cheap TE capable ISDN card. The ISDN card would cost around . Asterisk is free, PC whatever.