MPLS 642-611 really a 643-611?

Hi,

I did yesterday this MPLS exam. I failed. I got 785 and needed 790. To be honest I felt good about this exam. To compare: I did 3 weeks ago my QoS exam, felt really bad about it and got 904 points. I have no practical experience with MPLS but followed a few years back a 5 day MPLS course, a 2 day internal course from our company. They to prepare for this exam I studied really hard the Ciscopress MPLS and VPN Architectures, CCIP edition. I got this book fresh from Amazon, print date: 2002. BTW: The book is realy really boring to read. The only part I glossed over was the Internet and VPN coexistance. This part was a bit too much of a braincracker to comprehend to the details.

Anyway, what pissed me off was that they asked questions which were not in the Cisco advised preparations materials (the MPLS book) and not in the Cisco list of topics which were covered in the exam 642-611 MPLS on the Cisco website. After the exam I reread the outline of the exam 642-611 because I focused on the topics and it states:

"The MPLS exam is a qualifying exam for the CCIP certification (Cisco Certified Internetwork Professional). The 643-611 MPLS exam will test materials covered under the Implementing Cisco MPLS course. The exam will certify that the successful candidate has knowledge and skills necessary to gather information from the technology basics to some of the more updated features and functions such as Traffic Engineering, Fast Reroute and any Transport over MPLS (AToM). The exam covers topics on MPLS Concepts, MPLS Label Assignment and Distribution, Frame-Mode/Cell-Mode MPLS Implementation on Cisco IOS Platforms, MPLS Virtual Private Networks Technology, MPLS VPN Implementation, Complex MPLS VPNs, and Internet Access from a MPLS VPN."

It seems they are talking about exam 643-611 which is still a BETA exam...