I'd like to get some career guidance please

Hello,

Noting that I am female, I have some questions about a career in Cisco networking competing among men aside from other general questions such as whether it is wise/realistic to try starting a career at a not so young age even if I have a degree in Computer Info systems, i.e I am not a stranger to technical field. (I am aware that degree doesn't carry much weight; i am just giving my background.)

The reason I am asking here is that I do not want to make any more mistakes - I have made serious mistakes not trying to get into networking area a lot sooner after obtaining my degree (5 year ago) but there were good reasons in a way such as recovering from illness plus in a b=very abusive situation by families though I now see that I was being stupid to let them use me and abused me - and need to get somewhere in life before I get too old. A little background here.

I am in my early 40s and am from a science background before studying CIS (I had a master's degree in that field but career-wise, I was in limbo as a non-immigrant w/o US residency) before I studied Computer Info systems. During my study of CIS - I did get instate tuition fee due to a new law, I was ill. At first, I didn't know that it was the mold at school. I alos had a breast surgery which weakened my already weak body. To make the story short, after spending so much money and struggle, IT market was in terrible shape and I had no more money nor is my mother (foreign country) around anymore - have no access to inheritance either since older siblings are controlling. Due to the industrial pollution in the city I was at and also due to the climate, I moved to CA near my much older sister and my plan to get certifications - initially was in Java - never happened while I lived under constantly abusive situation, doing all kind of dirty work for her and put up with another sister (may age) whom I had to babysit and take abuse.