Help a newbie? 1720 and WIC-4ESW... WAN DHCP issues?

Sorry in advance for being verbose... Hopefully it helps you answer the question, though.

I was given a Cisco 1720 with no WICs. It has a built in ethernet port, console port, and aux port (some type of serial interface?).

My buddy couldn't remember the password to it, so I had to figure out how to access it via console cable and reset the password.

Anyway, I bought a 4 port switch (WIC-4ESW) for this thing to go in one of the WIC slots.

Then I discovered that the IOS had to be upgraded. So I had to get another friend to download the new IOS (lovely... Cisco won't let you just download it, you have to have special access). Anyway, I managed to get the IOS upgraded.

I figure I'm doing pretty well, considering I have never done any of this stuff before. My buddy with the Cisco account says he only knows PIX stuff, not IOS stuff. So I'm basically learning this on my own (with the help of the internet, of course).

At this point, I'm just trying to get a config that is similar to a cheap router that I've already got: A single WAN port gets a public address via DHCP and uses NAT/PAT to a four port switch.

I'm not sure if it's mandatory, but I want to use the vlan functionality of the WIC. My ultimate goal will be to split the switch into different vlans, so I want/need to learn it this way. So basically, my idea is to: configure interface for WAN configure DHCP server configure vlan configure interface for switch ports (add to vlan) configure interface for vlan (give IP, nat inside)

I'm having some trouble, I believe, with the WAN interface configuration. When I don't configure the interface at all, it somehow grabs an IP via DHCP. But I don't think it grabs the gateway address (default route?). I doubt it is getting the DNS servers either, but I don't know how to tell for certain. It's not as big of a deal as not getting the gateway since I can enter the DNS manually.