Frame Relay top speed 1.54 Mbps?

Im just starting to learn CCNA, go easy on me :)

I keep seeing text stating that "Frame Relay can provide data transfer rates of up to 1.54 Mbps". Then in the next paragraph it will say: "Frame Relay can be implemented over a variety of connection lines including 56K, T1, T3"

My questions: Why would you be running frame relay on a T3 (45Mbps) if its data transfer speed is limited to 1.544Mbps? Is that really the top speed for frame relay? 1Would companies typically have multiple Frame Relay connections? All running on a seperate physical lines? or through a single T3 perhaps? Im confused!

Any basic/brief info would be appreciated

Reply to
Dennis
Loading thread data ...

Hi, As I undersand the Maximum Bandwith for ATM Service is 622 Mbps, though higher speeds are being developed. Typical media used are Twisted pair and Optical Fiber. hope that helps, CraftWorks.

Reply to
CraftWorks

sounds like another old USA tunnel vision Q.

FWIW the typical port speed in Europe was "up to 2 Mbps" (E1) and F/R is covered by world wide standards - so 1.5 was a USA only answer....

F/R was also available here at E3 34 Mbps as a service from some telcos - but european telco F/R networks typically used ATM above 2 Mbps.

However - if you ignore the "switching" bit of Frame Relay in the telco cloud, then from a router perspective F/R is just a serial encapsulation choice.

And in a Cisco router which supports the interfaces, it works on high speed serial interfaces such as HSSI (50 Mbps), as well as some others such as E3 / T3 ports.

Reply to
stephen

starting to learn CCNA, go easy on me :)

Great question-so to conclude FR is capable of whatever speed the I/F can support?

Reply to
daytime

starting to learn CCNA, go easy on me :)

as long as it is a serial port that support F/R encapsulation, then yes.