Do you guys like your jobs?

I posted a while back asking about Cisco certs.

I have a degree in EE, was a stay-at-home dad for the past 10 years, and I'm looking to get back to work. I thought I would shift gears and look into IT.

Looking at the jobs at Monster.com, many of the Network Engineer positions aren't what I thought they would be. I thought a Network Engineer was on par with a EE or ME, but many of the positions require only a high school education.

So I don't know which way to go. I love computers, learned to code as a kid, networking "black magic" fascinates me.

Is there a specific area of IT I should focus on given my background?

What kind of salary should I expect?

Reply to
Mitch
Loading thread data ...

Spend less time worrying about what kind of education you have, and more time worrying about what education you're going to need. There are many avenues you can take it. So start studying up, because it might not be as easy as you might think...

Reply to
CNAP

Are you sure these are Network Engineer positions that only require a HS diploma, or are they simply HelpDesk postions? A huge difference in pay and in experience and education.

While I feel the degree is quite useful, without any real world experience on live production networks, you really can't hope to start out in a great position.

I suggest you get some books to study networks, perhaps Microsoft and Cisco, get some pc's, setup a lab with some switches, and start there.

Good luck

Reply to
David Flores

I just don't want to get into the field with the wrong expectations. I'm trying to figure out what the various career paths are in IT.

Reply to
Mitch

Reply to
fugettaboutit