CCNP or go strait for the CCIE

I have been a network engineer for 4 years now and I a recently passed my CCNA (should have taken this a long time ago) pretty effortlessly using wendell odom's offical exam cert guide. Anyways a respected colluege of mine says to go strait for the CCIE skipping the CCNP. Most of the stufff covered in the NP seems to be covered in wendell odoms CCIE Routing and Switching Exam Certification Guide, 3rd Edition. Anyways should I go straight for the IE? I like the cisco press books by odom and find them very usful.

Reply to
jcle
Loading thread data ...

You certainly *could* do that, however, I think you'll find that the CCIE isn't nearly as easy as the CCNP. I've held a CCNP for almost 6 years now, and I can say that the two exams aren't really even in the same league. You may be a sharpshooter, but I doubt you'll be able to make the jump without some serious study, time, and considerably more work experience. Sitting down with a CCIE prep guide ain't gonna get it done. I am being general here, but the tone of your email makes the jump from CCNP to CCIE sound so matter-of-fact. :-) Remember, the first time failure rate of the CCIE lab is around 95%. Not trying to be negative or discouraging, but the cost of good lab gear, lab exam, flight, and hotel are going to run you many thousands of dollars. You'll want to carefully consider your plan and approach the CCIE with appropriate expectations.

Good luck in your studies!

jcle wrote:

Reply to
fugettaboutit

You are certainly right, but just keep in mind that there are also people who are CCIE and even didn't pass CCNA :D It's possible due to Cisco certification rules... one guy just said that he was too lazy to take all these exams (CCNA, CCNP) and he went straight for CCIE :D It's a matter of how long did you work with Cisco equipment and general with networking stuff...

Reply to
Slawomir Kawala