CCNP or CCSP? Advice needed.

Greetings all:

I just finished my CCNA, and I want to start on the professional level courses.

By far it seems most people go after a CCNP. That all looks fascinating, but I've been considering the CCSP because I have some experience writing security policy and auditing security events. It's also a subject that interests me.

My problem is that I see a TON of books, trial test software, online courses, blogs, all about the courses in the CCNP track, but almost none out there for CCSP.

Are there any CCSP's out there? Does anyone know of good sites, blogs, or other aids that would get me through if I went after this one?

I'd hate to start it and find out I only had a few dry Cisco Press books to work from.

Ingot

Reply to
Ingot
Loading thread data ...
[Default] "Ingot" ha scritto:

I was having the same doubt, but I was adviced to get done CCNP first, then CCSP. So, now I'm preparing myself for CCNP using Authorized Self-Study Guide (Cisco Press), CCNP curicullum, Train Signal Video Mentor and GNS3 for labs.

formatting link

Reply to
rai

----- Original Message ----- From: "rai"

That's very helpful, thank you.

I'm really stuck on this one, it's a puzzle. I may just go look at the two textbooks they use, and make my decision based on which one seems to be the better read.

Can I ask WHY they advised you to get the CCNP first? Is it that the CCSP concepts are easier to understand once you've been through the CCNP certification?

Ingot

Reply to
Ingot

The CCNP stands alone in its progression of knowledge and topics. The CCSP builds off of material in the CCNP, just like the CCVP and CCIP.

The CCNP covers switching, routing, remote access, and optimization/support. This is the core set of fundamentals in the world of data networking.