CCNA/CCNP at 40 ?

Hi guys,

I need your opinion about starting a career in IT at 40. I have a degree in telecommunications engineering 3-class grad in 2000. I have 4 years experience in telecommunications installations mainly cabling (BT and Marconi). That's about it. Currently I work for a small firm as CATV/broadband installer. I registed with some IT agencies but so far haven't got a single interview. Is it my age? And if it is will CCNP make any difference.

Reply to
tim
Loading thread data ...
40 better not be too old. I am 45 and just got my first IT job.

Tarvos

Reply to
Tarvos{k}

i know people doing CCNA's at 40, its porbably better you are more focussed, do the CCNA, it gets you sorted out with all the protocols and router config, you really cant start at CCNP unless you have experience with cisco routers before, the telecoms stuff you have done will help you no doubt, but start at CCNA you can complete it in less than a year if you work hard

Reply to
Christo

I'm 33 and I've been in IT for about 14 years. I've also held my CCPN cert for around 4 years or so. If I had it to do over, I don't know that I would have not gone into IT/networking. However, if I had another skill set (and because of the way the industry is going) I'd might consider leave IT altogether. The problem is that I can't just go into another career and make the same amount of money. Don't get me wrong, it was never about the money, but I'm the sole income source for my family. Maybe I'm just at a crossroads - maybe I'm going through my mid-life crisis 10 years early... :-)