Proper, clean cable management (howto)

I'm looking for some reference about how to do cable management "right".

In all my years as a sysadmin, I never really figured this out. And I've an opportunity now to build out a new lab *and* clean up the rats nest cable job in our old lab ;-) Should be a joy ride.

I've been looking all over the place, and haven't found much except products for sale, etc. One product for switches I liked is called NEATPATCH.

My labs consist of switches and several servers - nothing out of the ordinary (racks, etc).

I'd appreciate it if anyone had some pointers or perhaps pointers to online reference (or books, even).

Thanks in advance.

Reply to
forrie
Loading thread data ...

Forrie:

Perhaps these will help.

formatting link
formatting link
John

Reply to
John Dulak

Good links. I wish I had taken picture of the good and bad cabling I've come across, and done.

Some thoughts;

Buy a bunch of 1ft, 3ft, and 3ft patch cords. cableguys.com is good and cheap. (no relationship, etc)

Use this stuff as needed to span rows of racks or to get from the rack row to the wall.

formatting link

For all the little cigar-box sized electronic boxes, I bought a desk organizer like this and put it in on a shelf in a rack;

formatting link
Never stack anyting on anything else. You should always be able to move/remove any piece of equipment without disturbing anything else.

Give power distribution and cabling as much thought as the data. If you are anal as i am, you can get NEMA cables in 2ft and 3ft lengths. They are cheap. Newark Electronics (newark.com) sells short cables and the sell over the phone and always took my small ($100) orders. They *used to* send a huge catalog out to anyone that asked. Keep an assortment of old NEMA cords, sorted by length.

Wiremold makes rack-mounted power strips (p/n J06BOB20X-AM & others. They are annoyingly expensive, but there is a value to neatness.