Problem with Access Point wiring

Hi all,

I am kind of new to this, so bear with me. Anyway, the problem that I am having:

I have a Linksys Wireless G Router that I have hooked on the bottom floor of my friend's 3 story house. Reception on the top floor is poor at best so I decided to hardwire a Linsys Access Point upstairs. I ran a length of Cat 5e through the basement crawl space and up the walls outside, then back through and installed an RJ-45 jack on both ends. Used the patch cables that were included with the router and access point to connect, and the connection light did not come on. On the Access Point it blinked intermittently.

I think the problem is coming from the fact that at the termination points, where I connected the jacks, I untwisted the pairs too much. I am going over tomorrow to try out this fix, but I wanted to see if there is anything else that I should be aware of or look for as a fix if I can't get this to work. I don't necessarily need to maintain pure 100mbs Cat5 standards; I just need the access point to function properly.

Thanks.

Ryan

Reply to
The Chairman
Loading thread data ...

Most often the problems with this type of installation have to do with the matching of the cable pairs rather than the amount of untwist. I would check to be certain both ends were wired using the same pattern, either the T568A or T568B pattern. Split pairs will give you some of the symptoms you describe.

It is also possible that you need a cross-over cable between the router and the access point.

Reply to
Justin Time

Make sure your cable is wired correctly, according to EIA/TIA 568A or B. A properly wired cable will work fine at 100 Mb. If it doesn't you've got a wiring problem or cable fault.

Reply to
James Knott