Patch Panels

I'm currently studying for my Network+ Certification exam and I came across patch panels in my reading and I understand that they provide a safe place for all the cables, organization, as well as providing flexibility. But my reading was vague on the connection provided by the patch cables from the panel to the hub. Does each connection to the patch panel need its own patch cable to the hub, and if so, why would one want to even bother with a patch panel if every thing needs to connect to a hub anyways? Also, can a network opperate through a patch panel with out the use of a hub, switch, etc...? I assume not, but just in case. If anywould would be willing to explain this patch panel stuff to me that would be great.

Thanks,

David

Reply to
david.lazar
Loading thread data ...

The theory of patch panels is that you can have many jacks and less hub/switch ports. It may not matter a whole lot in today's $130 for

24 port unmanaged switches, but in the "old days" or in managed hubs/switches it mattered a lot.

I always tell a customer that "cable is cheap". Decorate a room with

3 or 4 network locations and you don't care where the user sits. He only might need a single port on a switch but he might have 8 jacks in his room. When it comes time to rearrange his space, he just moves the computer to the new jack and moves the corresponding patch cord in the computer room.

Carl Navarro

Reply to
Carl Navarro
[snip]

installation