need help with cable drop of 500 feet

I realized that cat5e cable have a limit of 100 meter. What would be the best solution if I need to do a cable drop of 500 feet?

Thanks in advance

Reply to
Steve
Loading thread data ...

Actually the best solution is to put in a midspan repeater, or use fiber. The cost of the fiber and media converters will be about the same as a midspan repeater, and gets around the need for power for the repeater.

Reply to
Justin Time

There are reports of 10Mb ethernet running over distances greater than

100meters. I'm summarizing what has been said. I have no first hand experience.

Wire loss seems to be the limiting factor and you want to buy wire with the lowest possible DC resistance, ie the lowest gauge number.

You need devices at each end that have enough managability to have the interface speed set to 10Mb/half duplex. (I don't know if the HD is important.)

You can experiment with wire on the spool to see if the 10Mb works with the hubs you've got before you pay to have the wire pulled.

If the reliability is important to you I recommend getting tested spares for the hubs for the day you have problems and want to test by substitution.

If this is for use between buildings you should be using fiber instead of copper. That eliminates the distance limit but costs more.

Reply to
Al Dykes

Yeah. Definitely go fiber if at all possible.

Reply to
T. Sean Weintz

A pair of fiber transceivers or Cisco Long Reach Ethernet (LRE) devices will do for Ethernet connectivity. Fiber is obviously faster (and most likely cheaper, too).

Reply to
Dmitri(Cabling-Design.com