fibre optic explanation needed

Hi im totally new to fibre and wonder if someone could explain some things for me.

We have had a fibre optic link put in between two comms cabinets, the fibre is between 2 patch panels inside the patch panels are 4 strands of fibre red green blue and clear, these lead to individual st type sockets. At the end i need to get running i have a 3com 4400 switch 24 port with a gigabit fibre module fitted. this is connected to the patch panel via a MT-RJ to ST cable this only covers 2 of the said fibre strands. How do i connect all this up so i get activity because the switch shows that the module is ok but cannot detect any activity. Do i need another module? 3com said this is the switch i need so i assume that is right.

Please help

Phil Sigley

Reply to
phil sigley
Loading thread data ...

(probably white (not clear), blue, red, green)

They gave you 4 incase one of the pair was bad. Generally, you'll be running Gigabit Ethernet over two individual fibers.

Sounds normal.

No, you shouldn't need another module. Sounds like you have everything that you need to have. Did you swap around the pair of fiber end-to-end such that the Transmit of one switch is going into the Receive port of the other? If not, try flopping over one to the other at one of the panels.

Reply to
Doug McIntyre

If your cable has only four strands of fiber, their colors leave me in wonderment: it's been years since I saw anyone using non-standard colors for fiber. I mean, those that differ from the de-facto standard:

#1-blue #2-orange #3-green #4-brown #5-slate (grey) #6-white #7-red #8-black #9-yellow #10-violet #11-rose #12-aqua

It may also be the case that you have a 12 or 8-strand cable of which only