Major difference between WRT300N & WRVS4400N

Hi,

I'm a newbie to wireless networking. I want to buy a pair of routers connecting my two sites (called them site A & site B).

At site A, I have two P4 class PCs & one PII PC. I used the 2 P4 PCs to browse internet. The PII PC had P2P application running continuously. I would like to put the PII PC in DMZ. The site connected to internet via

10Mbps link.

At site B, I have one PII PC also running P2P application running continuously. I intend to add one P4 PC running web cam services. I intend to put PII PC in DMZ. The site connected to internet via 10Mbps link

Most time I will stay at site A and need to access site B computers via VPN channels. I would like to share site A & site B's internet connections via Linksys routers and install wireless LAN adapters in the three P4 PCs.

I found WRT300N & WRVS4400N model may suit my needs. However, from the user guide found at Linksys web site, I saw no significant difference in their functionality and supported features --- I mean in 802.11x standard support, firewall & VPN functionality and intrusion prevention system support.

I would like to ask besides authentication & IP versions support, what are the major difference between models ? Do these models suit my requirement ?

Also, I found no figure stated in user guides or specification sheets telling how many wireless device could access the router at maximum ?

Besides, specification of both router models support draft 802.11n, does it mean that 802.11n standard is not finalized yet ? Thanks for help :)

Reply to
goo_lu
Loading thread data ...

Hi

Since you do VPN and the WRVS4400N is a VPN End Point, the WRVS4400N is probably more suitable.

Jack (MVP-Networking).

Reply to
Jack (MVP-Networking).

On 14 Nov 2006 13:29:49 -0800, "goo_lu" wrote in :

What you probably want is a point-to-point wireless bridge.

Be warned that P2P will cause some cheap routers to fall over and die due to large numbers of connections.