cable modem - router - help

Hey guys.... I am new to this newsgroups thing... this is my first post... i am having trouble with my internet... I keep getting disconnected but it reconnects again after a couple of second... it's bad cuz it cancels all my downloads and also my chatting programs... I am using Windows XP HOME.... cable modem... wireless router (netgear MR

814 v2)... but im not connected through wireless... I tried everything i could... i even tried reformatting my whole hardrive... but its still d same... i tried calling comcast (my ISP) but dey sed i dint loose signal from them.. they sed its my computer... but i really doubt that is only my computer cuz i also get disconnected to my xbox live while playing... I've noticed that i often get disconnected wen i download too many things at once... but ive been doing those before with my old computer and i dint get disconnected... and i figured that my cable modem can handle it... I NEED HELP ! MY INTERNET IS MESSED UP !!! IM BEGGING FOR HELP!! ANYTHING !! HELP !!! PLEEEAAASEEE =D
Reply to
franciz3
Loading thread data ...

Did you do the 2 minute drill? Power off (i.e. unplug) everything (reset will not suffice). Then power up the modem (and wait 2 minutes - you see where this is going...) then power up the router (wait...) then power up the XP Home system.

If that fails you have bad connections on the cable...

Reply to
Rick Merrill

i do that drill.. if i completely loose my internet... like if it dint reconnect... but my internet coms bak right away after i get disconnected... well that drill is the only "suggestion" comcast can tell you if i call them again.... =\

Reply to
franciz3

SSL??.. i dont think i have that... and yes i am using DHCP...and no it doesnt only happened when im using p2p programs... sometimes my computer is off and im jes playing xbox... i even get kickd out of xbox live for ... unknown reason...but after couple of sec i can connect back to xbox live again... !?!?!

Reply to