X10 Controller Oddness?

I am still somewhat new to all this so pardon the newbie questions...

I have 2 manual controllers, a CMA11, a number of modules (light and applicance), and a couple switches (XPS3 alone and with XPSS or WS14A) installed in my house. Generally, these work well and as expected. However, I am trying to debug an occasional issue so I am running my ActiveHome (v 1.3) connected to my CMA11 and watching the communications log.

In so doing, I am using my manual controllers - an MC460 and a Radio Shack mini controller timer - to turn units on and off. When I do this, I do not see any activity in the communications log for the device which is supposed to be controlled (B 1-4). Instead, I always see an M13 followed by an M All Units Off with each controller action (both off and on actions). This seems odd to me:

(a) Why don't I see something in the log for the B1 device I am turning on and off? The unit does indeed go on/off.

(b) Why am I seeing any activity on the M house code when all the controllers are set to B?

I must be missing something obvious.

Thanks,

David

Reply to
David White
Loading thread data ...

I have recently installed two XPS3 switches. One - inside my garage - has a XPSS (WS14A) companion installed and controls my interior garage lights (both incandescent and fluorescent). The other is stand-alone and controls the lights on the garage's exterior (incandescent only).

I also have a mini controller (MC460) plugged into an outlet inside the garage in a location where there are no switches so I can operate both interior and exterior lights.

Finally, I have my computer connected to a CM11A running ActiveHome (1.3x). I am using this only for test purposes right now.

So here are the issues:

(a) It seems that the mini controller can ALWAYS turn the interior lights on (B5) but it has difficulty turning them off sometimes. When this happens, repeated attempts sometimes work - but not always.