House Access Help

I'm rather new at home automation. I'd be interested in feedback regarding a plan for a passive entry system to my home. The plan and components I have envisioned exist but I have not seen them configured in the way I've planned.

Pictures from the top, inside, and outside of my front door can be found at the following urls (I apologize in advance for the smallness of the jpg's that msn groups pulled from my computer -- hopefully my description below will provide the detail that may be so small as to be illegible on the jpgs):

Top View

formatting link
Outside View
formatting link
Inside View
formatting link
Principle elements of the plan: (1) Long range proximity reader - It seems as if the normal distance for a proximity reader is something on the order of 6" or less. My intention is to be able to approach my front door and have it open as I approach without having to remove my key card from my wallet. This would suggest a range quite a bit longer than 6". Long range proximity readers are out there (HID Maxiprox) but it appears they are targeted to parking garages and such.

Would anyone like to comment on applying a long range proximity reader to home automation application?

Since the long range proximity readers I've come across are on the order of 12" x 12" or larger my thought is to mount it indoors (in the drywall??) where it is not an eyesore. Should I reasonably expect this sort of installation to work? Are there challenges with this sort of installation that I need to be aware of?

With a long range proximity reader I need to be concerned with the distance that the reader penetrates indoors (I have provided for this in my diagram by specifying that the read area extends only outside the front door). I don't want to be activating my front door once I'm inside. Are proximity readers typically directional? Can they be made directional by the use of properly placed shielding? (metal??)