Cooling attic (and home) by spraying water on roof (shingles) - good/bad?

Corrosion. Air doesn't eat at the coil nearly as bad as chlorinated pool water would.

Reply to
wkearney99
Loading thread data ...

Hoo boy, and does it STINK. I was appalled visiting a friend's place some years ago at how badly the water stank of sulfur.

Reply to
wkearney99

Nice bit of explanation Jim.

True, I suppose dangerous isn't the right word. I was thinking more along the idea of some DIY nightmare oversaturating the roof (somehow) and introducing problems well beyond the roof's design. Weight, saturation, downspout overflow, etc.

Reply to
wkearney99

Evaporative cooling must do wonders for longevity.

Reply to
Dave Houston

the

cooling

amount of

cooling

brought to an

boiling and

cooling.

house in

saturated

saturated

I am a mechancal engineer doing these sorts of calculations and systems for over 40 years.. and you are entirely correct if the humidity is say 50% and the outside air is 90F... you can cool the air to 75 or so but the humidity is then up into the 80% range and all the problems you mention manifest. Thats why evaportive cooling is not used in many cases.

However in areas where the relative humidity is in the 20 to

30% range, and the outside air is over 90F... then the supply air can be cooled to 70F and 50% relative humidity..that works very well/

water

gets very

cooling

Its workable...but there are problems ..its seldom used because of those problems. You get to do whatever you wish though its yer house. Have fun.

canopy to

nasty

Oh please.

Phil Scott

Reply to
Phil Scott

Don't cooling towers use evaporative cooling?

Reply to
Chas Hurst

Jim Baber's expanded comments: